Day 11/week 2 – get fit plan – a stitch


Hi all.  Quite a hot day and a bit of a late start. I was awoken at 5am by a noise outside, probably a possum thudding about. Then I lay awake till 6am. I almost got up but decided to get some more sleep, which I did until 8.30am. Well of course that put everything out of whack. And it was getting hot. We had already planned to go shopping at a town 15 minutes from here so I decided to walk part of the way. The others picked me up just as I had walked for 20 minutes.

Getting back to the walk, I took it easy for the first 5 minutes for warm up and then went more quickly. I did the arm swinging up to shoulder height as Wendy suggested. It really made a difference and was a better workout. I was a bit embarrassed about it and often stopped swinging if I thought a passing car might be looking at me. Then I got a stitch. I blamed it on having eaten breakfast and drinking 2 glasses of water prior. Once the stitch set in I slowed down. So my next walk will be before food and not by a busy road where people can see how silly I look. But it’s another day that I’ve completed the right amount of exercise. Yay.

4 thoughts on “Day 11/week 2 – get fit plan – a stitch

  1. Hi Kaye, I know what you mean about looking silly as I sometimes do face & neck exercises while walking,but as I leave early each day to work 5.30 nobody sees me,and I have stopped them as it becomes light and am in the city.I do love that early morning feeling.I’m not really losing weight either but I feel so much better after my walk and I too take in all that is happening in the burbs!! It,s all good Carol

    • Hi Carol. I think I will have to get going earlier. I love the thought of that cooler morning air and lack of traffic. Love hearing about your face and neck moves. I wonder if I might add that to my arm swinging!

  2. Well done, I am really impressed at your persistance.
    I get to walk for an hour each morning at 5 or 6am with my neighbour across the road. We’ve been going each morning for the last 4 months, its been great. We try to solve the problems of the world as we walk along and although neither of us have lost much weight or size we both feel fitter and better for it. We live in a lovely suburb and the hills provide us with enough challenges to keep us improving. We now know so much more about where we live, the new homes that go up, the gardens and get to meet and greet other walkers and runners along the way. I love my walks.
    Keep up the good work Kaye.

    • Thanks very much Wendy. I love to hear about the walks others do. It is nice to get to know our surroundings better. There is always a new discovery each time.

Leave a Reply

